Torre Truglia: between past and present, between the sky and the sea

by Barbara Palladino

On a rocky bastion that precipitates right into the sea, Torre Truglia rises on the promontory of Sperlonga. It is a symbol of the Lazio town, and an evocative location offering a breathtaking view.
Built in 1532 over a pre-existing, Roman-origin tower, Torre Truglia was part of the local defense system, which also included Torre del Nibbio (part of a baronial castle in the city center) and Torre di Capovento, which was used as the customs office at the time.

Torre Truglia had a troubled history. Destroyed by Frederick Barbarossa, it was rebuilt in 1611 and destroyed again in 1623. Its shape had a specific reason: the four inclined buttresses were meant to stop the enemy from using ladders, while their bases were strategically built lower than the building in order to stop the enemy from going around the tower to help any attacking soldiers. On the top of the building, there was even a “reduit” where survivors could continue to defend themselves, proving the tower was meant for armed defense and not just for sightings (in the latter case, it would have been simply abandoned as soon as the enemy attacked).
Since the 17th century, Torre Truglia became a lookout for the whole coast, and was turned into the headquarters of the local Guardia di Finanza between 1870 and 1969.
Today, its breathtaking views are a favorite with tourists, who visit from all over Italy. Many couples also choose this amazing location at the border between sky and sea for their wedding.


Torre Truglia
Via Torre Truglia
04029 Sperlonga (LT)

Photos via: sperlonga/ cuore/ sperlonga/

Torre Truglia: between past and present, between the sky and the sea

Via Torre Truglia


Most Read

After the slopes of the Dolomites, après-ski by LOOX

by Barbara Palladino LOOX is an après-ski hotspot, at the station at the foot of the Obereggen Latemar ski and trekking area in the Dolomites. It...

The wondrous Gothic, medieval frescoes of the Oratory of San Pellegrino

The Oratory of San Pellegrino is located in Bominaco, a hamlet not far from Caporciano, in the province of L'Aquila. It was probably commissioned...

LUMEN: a museum of photography, 2,275 meters up high

by Barbara Palladino On the top of the Kronplatz (or Plan de Corones), near Brunico (Bolzano) – an enchanted place that only the mountains could create...

Sicilian Moor heads: a legend of universal love

by Barbara Palladino “Moor heads” or “teste di moro” are colorful, ceramic vases that represent the face of a man and a woman, with a...